Car Insurance Requirements in Louisiana
Whenever a traffic accident occurs, one of the first things that is looked at is the driver’s car insurance. Just as with any state, Louisiana requires that vehicle owners maintain liability insurance minimums. In Louisiana, there are about 2.9 million licensed drivers.
Fault-Based Accident System
Louisiana follows a traditional fault-based system in regards to financial responsibility related to injuries, vehicle damage, lost income, etc. that occurs due to a car accident. The individual who caused the accident is also liable to pay for any resulting harm (up to his or her policy limits).
For those who have been the victim of a car accident, there are a few different ways that they may proceed. They may do so by:
- Filing a claim with his or her own insurance company (assuming that the policy covers the loss)
- Filing a third-party claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance carrier
- Filing a personal injury lawsuit in civil court against the at-fault driver
Minimum Liability Car Insurance
As with any state, Louisiana has its own minimum requirements for the amount of liability car insurance coverage necessary. These include the following amounts:
- $15,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in an accident caused by the driver of the insured vehicle
- $30,000 for total bodily injury or death liability in an accident caused by the driver of the insured vehicle
- $25,000 for property damage per accident caused by the driver of the insured vehicle
Although these are state minimums, you may want to consider purchasing higher insurance limits so that you are not personally liable for any financial damage. Your liability coverage will also translate to anyone whom you’ve given permission to use your vehicle or if you should get into an accident while in a rental vehicle.
However, should you get into an accident, this liability coverage will not apply to your own injuries or damage to your vehicle. You must have other coverage for that if no one else’s coverage can apply to your losses. You may also want to considered uninsured motorist coverage, which can protect you should you be involved in an accident with an uninsured party.
If you are involved in a crash and do not have insurance or are found to be driving without insurance, you may incur fines of $500 to $1,000, as well as the suspension of your driving privileges, vehicle impoundment, revocation of registration and cancellation of your license plate. If the other driver was at fault in the accident but you do not have insurance, the state has a “No Pay, No Play” law, which may prohibit you from collecting certain amounts after an accident. This includes the first $25,000 in property damages and the first $15,000 in personal injuries.
Consult with a Qualified Car Accident Attorney
At Gauthier Amedee, our team of experienced Louisiana motor vehicle accident attorneys fights hard to protect your rights.
If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident due to the negligence or recklessness of another person, contact Gauthier Amedee today at 225-647-1700 or fill out our online form to schedule a free case evaluation.
September 24th, 2019