Sharing the Road With School Buses
Although school buses are an extremely common mode of transportation for kids all over, they are still not without risk. Because of this it is a good idea to understand the laws surrounding them and what you can do to keep students safe.
Under Louisiana state law, there are certain things to remember when it comes how to proceed around school buses.
Can I Pass a School Bus?
A bus must always put its lights on at least 100 feet – but no more than 500 feet – before stopping in order to alert others. For drivers sharing the road with a bus, many laws are dependent on the number of lanes and the layout of the street or highway:
- For two-lane roads, any vehicles – regardless of the direction that they are traveling – must stop at minimum of 30 feet from the bus when its red lights are flashing.
- For three-lane roads, where the highway has a center turning lane and a travel lane on both sides, vehicles must also stop when the bus’s red lights are flashing – regardless of the direction in which they are traveling.
- For four-lane roads, vehicles going in either direction must stop when the bus’s red lights are flashing.
- For highways that are divided and have a grass median or other physical barrier between the different directions of traffic, only the traffic that is traveling in the same direction as the bus must stop when the bus’s red lights are flashing. Traffic going the other direction need not stop, but should proceed with caution.
What Should You Do When a School Bus is Stopped?
You should never pass a bus that is stopped with its red lights on if you are going in either direction if the road is not divided. You do not have to stop when the bus is stopped in a loading zone that is located completely off of the roadway and where the pedestrians are not allowed to cross the roadway.
The area 10 feet around the school bus is most dangerous for children. This is why it is important to stop far enough back to give them the space to get on or off of the bus. Do not engage in any distracting activity such as texting, reading or posting on social media, or making calls on your phone. Always leave more space between you and the bus when you are behind it than when you are driving behind a car.
If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident through no fault of your own, call the Louisiana car accident attorneys at Gauthier Amedee at (225) 647-1700. When you call, you will speak with an experienced Louisiana car accident lawyer for FREE.
Don’t delay. Get the help you need today with Gauthier Amedee.
August 14th, 2019